2016-2017 Semester Catalog

Eligibility Determination Specialist (ED11) Certificate

Campus Availability and Advisement:

Program Description:

The Eligibility Determination Specialist TCC program prepares individuals to work under general supervision to coordinate or perform eligibility determinations and other related activities associated with Medicaid benefits for the aged, blind, and disabled. Additionally, eligibility determination specialists may serve as liaisons with community, state, and federal agencies to coordinate client benefits and services. Although the certificate program was developed in cooperation with the Georgia Division of Family and Children Services (DFCS), program graduates may also find employment in the private sector, providing consultation and technical assistance to nursing homes, hospitals, and rehabilitation services personnel and family members concerning eligibility requirements. The program emphasizes a combination of theory, social work procedures, and interviewing techniques. Students will learn about the economic support component of social work, including Family Medicaid, Food Stamps, and Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF). Preceptors from DFCS will oversee students in the internship phase of the program. The length of the program is approximately two semesters.

More Information: Review program costs, student debt, on-time graduation and more by clicking here.

Entrance Requirements:

Age: Minimum of 18 years of age

Required Courses (25 Credit Hours)

COMP 1000Introduction to Computers


EMPL 1000Interpersonal Relations and Professional Development


ENGL 1010Fundamentals of English I


SOCW 2010Introduction to Case Management


SOCW 2020Human Behavior and the Social Environment


SOCW 2030Interviewing Techniques with I


SOCW 2081Social Work Field Practicum


Total Credit Hours: 25 Minimum Credit Hours Required for Graduation